Affiliate Disclosure: This site contains affiliate links. We earn compensation when you click links to partners. This does not affect your rates or terms. Full disclosure.
Only 45% of business line of credit applicants got the full amount. The Fed's 2026 survey report covered 977 line applicants [1].
A line of credit is the product small businesses ask for most. It is also one they often get only in part.
This page collects the verified numbers on lines of credit in 2026. That covers usage, approval, denial, pricing, utilization, and bank standards.
Every figure links to its primary source. Where no source exists, we say so.
Key Takeaways
- 45% of business line of credit applicants were fully approved in the 2025 survey year, per the Fed's 2026 Small Business Credit Survey report [1].
- Business lines of credit were the most applied-for credit product, sought by 43% of credit applicants [1].
- 36% of U.S. employer firms use a line of credit regularly, behind credit cards (62%) and loans (44%) [1].
- About 1 in 9 employer firms (10.8%) got a fully approved line of credit in the prior 12 months (our calculation).
- Small banks had the highest full approval rate for credit applications at 57%; online lenders had 38% [1].
- 60% of online-lender borrowers said costs ran higher than expected, versus 32% at large banks [1].
- Median small business credit line usage at banks was 40.7% in Q1 2026, per the Kansas City Fed [3].
- The prime rate, the base for most bank lines, rose from 6.75% to 7.00% on September 17, 2026 [4].
- 59% of employer firms with debt backed it with a personal guarantee [1].
In This Analysis
- How many businesses use lines?
- Line of credit approval rates
- Approval by lender type
- Why applications get denied
- What lines cost in 2026
- How much of a line gets used
- Are banks tightening?
- Collateral and guarantees
- Funding gaps
- Searchable reference table
- What isn't measured
- Methodology and corrections
- FAQ
How Many Small Businesses Use a Line of Credit?
36% of U.S. employer firms use a line of credit regularly (Fed SBCS, 2026 report) [1].
That puts lines third. Credit cards lead at 62%, and loans follow at 44% [1].
Applications tell a different story. Lines were the most applied-for product, sought by 43% of credit applicants [1].
Across all employer firms, 24% applied for a line last year [1].
Source: Federal Reserve Banks, Small Business Credit Survey 2026 Report on Employer Firms, p. 9.
About 1 in 9 employer firms got a fully approved line last year. Our calculation: 24% applied for a line, times 45% fully approved, equals 10.8%. See the methodology.
What Is the Approval Rate for a Business Line of Credit?
45% of line applicants were fully approved in 2025 (Fed SBCS) [1].
Another 31% got part of what they asked for. The remaining 24% were denied [1].
That makes lines slightly harder to get than the average credit product. 76% of line applicants got at least some approval [1]. The figure for all credit products was 81%.
| Outcome | Line of credit applicants | All financing applicants | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fully approved / received all | 45% | 42% | Fed SBCS 2026 [1] |
| Partially approved / received some | 31% | 36% | Fed SBCS 2026 [1] |
| Denied / received none | 24% | 22% | Fed SBCS 2026 [1] |
| Prior year, all financing (received all / some / none) | n/a | 41% / 36% / 24% | Fed SBCS 2025 [2] |
The line of credit column counts 977 applicants. The all-financing column covers every financing type firms sought [1].
Which Lenders Approve the Most Applications?
Small banks fully approved 57% of credit applicants, the top rate (Fed SBCS) [1].
Online lenders fully approved 38%. Counting partial approvals, though, they beat large banks: 77% versus 69% [1].
These figures combine loans, lines, and cash advances. The survey does not split line approvals by lender type.
Source: Federal Reserve Banks, Small Business Credit Survey 2026 Report on Employer Firms, p. 20.
| Lender type | Fully approved | At least partially approved | Accepted offered financing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small banks (under $10B assets) | 57% | 80% | 89% |
| Finance companies | 50% | Not reported | 90% |
| Credit unions | 44% | 70% | 94% |
| Large banks ($10B+ assets) | 43% | 69% | 87% |
| Online lenders | 38% | 77% | 84% |
| CDFIs | 27% | 66% | Not reported |
Source: Fed SBCS 2026, pp. 20 and 22 [1]. Online lenders drew 29% of applicants in 2025, up from 17% in 2020 [1].
Speed has a price. 60% of online-lender borrowers said costs ran higher than expected. Only 32% of large-bank borrowers said the same [1].
Compare channels in our online lenders vs. banks analysis.
Why Do Line of Credit Applications Get Denied?
Strict lender requirements topped denial reasons at 46% (Fed SBCS) [1].
Too much existing debt followed at 37%. Low credit scores came third at 30% [1].
Source: Federal Reserve Banks, Small Business Credit Survey 2026 Report on Employer Firms, p. 14. N=1,189.
Firm age matters too. Young firms, up to five years old, were fully approved 48% of the time [1]. Firms over 20 years hit 63%.
Industry shifts the odds. Manufacturing led full approval at 63%, while healthcare and education trailed at 39% [1].
Debt service coverage is a hidden hurdle. 67% of banks say weak coverage adds layers of approval (FDIC, 2024) [11].
Rejection data by business type is in our 2026 loan rejection rates analysis.
Know where you'd land before you apply.
Compare line of credit options across bank and online partners. No hard credit pull on the first check.
Check My OptionsWhat Do Business Lines of Credit Cost in 2026?
The prime rate rose to 7.00% on September 17, 2026 (Fed H.15) [4].
It had held at 6.75% since December 2025.
Most bank lines float above prime. So that move reprices most bank lines automatically.
| Rate benchmark | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Prime rate, December 11, 2025 to September 16, 2026 | 6.75% | FRED / H.15 [4] |
| Prime rate from September 17, 2026 | 7.00% | FRED / H.15 [4] |
| Average variable line rate, urban banks, Q1 2026 | 7.1% | KC Fed SBLS [3] |
| Average fixed line rate, urban banks, Q1 2026 | 6.7% | KC Fed SBLS [3] |
| Average rate on short-maturity small business loans, August 2026 | 7.5% | NFIB [7] |
| SBA 7(a) maximum variable rate | Prime + 6.5 (up to $50K), + 6.0 ($50K to $250K), + 4.5 ($250K to $350K), + 3.0 (over $350K) | SBA [5] |
| SBA 7(a) rate caps at 7.00% prime | 10.0% to 13.5% | Our calculation from [4] [5] |
| Average interest rate in a fintech small business loan sample | 16% | FinRegLab, 2025 [12] |
Online pricing is harder to benchmark. No Tier 1 source publishes online line of credit APR ranges.
The FinRegLab sample offers one anchor. Its fintech loans averaged 16% interest, and 41% were lines of credit [12].
Rate drivers are covered in our 2026 line of credit interest rate guide.
How Much of Their Line Do Businesses Actually Use?
Median bank credit line usage was 40.7% in Q1 2026 (Kansas City Fed) [3].
Fixed-rate lines run hotter, at 52.9% usage. Variable-rate lines average 39.4% [3].
Variable-rate lines make up about 91% of total usage. Demand is growing: new credit lines rose 31.1% year over year [3].
Are Banks Tightening Business Credit Lines?
In July 2026, 3.6% of banks tightened small-firm line sizes (Fed SLOOS) [8].
Meanwhile, 5.5% eased them.
About 10% of banks, on net, tightened small business standards in Q1 2026 [3].
Banks are still extending commitments. Unused loan commitments reached $11.34 trillion in Q2 2026, up 11.3% [9].
Borrowers are cautious anyway. 25% of NFIB owners borrow regularly, below the 34% historical average [7].
For crisis-year comparisons, see how often banks cut business lines of credit.
What Collateral and Guarantees Do Lenders Require?
59% of indebted employer firms signed a personal guarantee (Fed SBCS) [1].
51% pledged business assets, and 38% pledged personal assets. Only 10% used no collateral at all [1].
Bank lines are rarely unsecured. Fewer than 5% of small-firm bank lines were unsecured in 2019 supervisory data [10].
See our personal guarantee guide before you sign.
How Big Is the Small Business Funding Gap?
49% of employer firms had a funding gap in 2025 (Fed SBCS) [1].
That combines 34% with a shortfall and 15% with needs left unmet. Only 51% had their needs fully met [1].
4% of employer firms were discouraged from applying. Among nonapplicants, 17% skipped because credit cost too much [1].
Complete Reference Table
Every figure on this page, with its source. Type to filter.
| Metric | Value | Source | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| Line of credit applicants fully approved | 45% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Approval |
| Line of credit applicants partially approved | 31% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Approval |
| Line of credit applicants denied | 24% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Approval |
| All financing applicants receiving full amount | 42% (41% prior year) | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Approval |
| Full approval, small banks (loans, lines, MCA) | 57% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Full approval, finance companies | 50% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Full approval, credit unions | 44% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Full approval, large banks | 43% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Full approval, online lenders | 38% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Full approval, CDFIs | 27% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Applicants using online lenders, 2020 to 2025 | 17% to 29% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Online-lender borrowers with higher-than-expected costs | 60% (large banks 32%, small banks 37%) | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Lenders |
| Employer firms using a line of credit regularly | 36% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Usage |
| Employer firms using credit cards / loans regularly | 62% / 44% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Usage |
| Credit applicants who applied for a line of credit | 43% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Usage |
| Employer firms that applied for a line in prior 12 months | 24% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Usage |
| Employer firms that applied for any loan, line, or MCA | 38% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Usage |
| Top denial reason: lender requirements too strict | 46% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Denials |
| Denial reason: too much debt | 37% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Denials |
| Denial reason: low credit score | 30% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Denials |
| Full approval, firms 0 to 5 years old vs. 21+ years | 48% vs. 63% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Denials |
| Prime rate, Dec 11 2025 to Sep 16 2026 | 6.75% | Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (FRED) [4] | Rates |
| Prime rate from Sep 17 2026 | 7.00% | Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (FRED) [4] | Rates |
| Average variable line rate, urban banks, Q1 2026 | 7.1% | Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City [3] | Rates |
| Average fixed line rate, urban banks, Q1 2026 | 6.7% | Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City [3] | Rates |
| SBA 7(a) max variable spread over prime | 3.0 to 6.5 points by loan size | U.S. Small Business Administration [5] | Rates |
| Average rate, short-maturity small business loans, Aug 2026 | 7.5% | NFIB [7] | Rates |
| Median bank credit line usage, Q1 2026 | 40.7% | Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City [3] | Utilization |
| Usage, fixed-rate vs. variable-rate lines | 52.9% vs. 39.4% | Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City [3] | Utilization |
| New credit lines at surveyed banks, year over year, Q1 2026 | +31.1% | Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City [3] | Utilization |
| Banks tightening / easing max small-firm line size, Q2 2026 | 3.6% / 5.5% | Federal Reserve Board [8] | Standards |
| Banks tightening small business standards, net, Q1 2026 | About 10% | Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City [3] | Standards |
| Unused loan commitments, FDIC-insured banks, Q2 2026 | $11.34 trillion | FDIC [9] | Standards |
| Owners who borrow regularly, Aug 2026 (historical avg 34%) | 25% | NFIB [7] | Standards |
| Firms with debt using a personal guarantee | 59% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Collateral |
| Firms with debt using business / personal assets as collateral | 51% / 38% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Collateral |
| Small-firm bank lines that are unsecured (2019 data) | Less than 5% | Federal Reserve Bank of New York [10] | Collateral |
| Employer firms with a funding shortfall or unmet need | 49% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Gaps |
| Employer firms discouraged from applying | 4% | Federal Reserve Banks [1] | Gaps |
| SBA 7(a) average loan, FY2025 (derived) | About $477,000 | U.S. Small Business Administration [6] | SBA |
What Isn't Measured Anywhere?
No public survey reports a business line of credit renewal rate.
Several numbers owners ask for simply do not exist in public data. We checked.
| Question | Status |
|---|---|
| What share of lines get renewed each year? | Not surveyed by the Fed, FDIC, or SBA |
| What is the average line of credit limit? | No Tier 1 source publishes it |
| What credit score do approved line applicants have? | No public median by lender type |
| How big is the small business line of credit market? | FDIC does not publish line balances separately |
| How often do owners draw, and how much? | No public draw-frequency data |
| What is the line of credit approval rate by lender type? | Fed data combines lines with loans and cash advances |
If you see these numbers elsewhere, ask for the source. Earlier versions of this page carried several of them, unsourced.
Frequently Asked Questions
Methodology and Corrections
This page uses 40 verified figures from 12 primary sources. We checked each on September 25, 2026.
Main source. The Fed's Small Business Credit Survey is a convenience sample. It covers employer firms with 1 to 499 employees. The 2026 report covers 6,525 firms surveyed from September to November 2025. Results are weighted and self-reported by firms.
Tiers. Every source is Tier 1. They are the Fed, FDIC, SBA, and NFIB. FinRegLab's study is independent academic-partnered research.
Derived number. 24% of employer firms applied for a line. 45% of line applicants were fully approved. 0.24 x 0.45 = 0.108, or about 1 in 9 firms.
Caveat: the 45% is a product-level outcome. Firms applying for several products are not de-duplicated.
The SBA cap range adds the 3.0 to 6.5 point spreads to 7.00% prime. The SBA average loan is $37 billion divided by 77,600 loans [6].
What changed on September 25, 2026
- Removed figures with no traceable source: a 74% renewal rate, a $730 billion market size, FICO medians of 720 and 640, average line limits, draw frequency and size, a $87,000 funding gap, and guarantee rates by facility size.
- Corrected approval rates by lender type. The old figures did not match the Fed survey. Small banks, not online lenders, lead on full approval.
- Corrected the prime rate from 7.5% to 6.75% (Q1 2026) and 7.00% (current).
- Corrected the top denial reason, product usage rates, and the NFIB financing-concern figure.
- Removed lender-type APR and credit score ranges that came from no survey. They were product marketing ranges presented as statistics.
- Added source links for every figure, a derived number, and a "what isn't measured" section.
Download the data. All figures are in loc-statistics-2026-dataset.csv, free to reuse under CC BY 4.0.
Sources and References
- Federal Reserve Banks. Small Business Credit Survey: 2026 Report on Employer Firms (2025 survey, 6,525 firms).
- Federal Reserve Banks. Small Business Credit Survey: 2025 Report on Employer Firms (2024 survey).
- Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City. Small Business Lending Survey, Q1 2026 (released June 25, 2026).
- Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (FRED). Bank Prime Loan Rate (DPRIME), from Federal Reserve H.15.
- U.S. Small Business Administration. 7(a) loan program: terms, conditions, and eligibility.
- U.S. Small Business Administration. SBA delivers record capital to small businesses in FY25 (September 30, 2025).
- NFIB. Small Business Economic Trends, August 2026.
- Federal Reserve Board. Senior Loan Officer Opinion Survey, July 2026, Table 1.
- FDIC. Quarterly Banking Profile, Second Quarter 2026.
- Federal Reserve Bank of New York. Chodorow-Reich, Darmouni, Luck and Plosser, Bank Liquidity Provision Across the Firm Size Distribution, Staff Report 942.
- FDIC. 2024 Small Business Lending Survey, Section 3: Loan Underwriting and Approval.
- FinRegLab with NYU Stern. Sharpening the Focus: Using Cash-Flow Data to Underwrite Financially Constrained Businesses (2025).
Cite this page
APA
Meridian Private Line. (2026, September 25). Business line of credit statistics 2026: Approval, usage, and rates. https://onlinebusinesslineofcredit.com/business-line-of-credit-statistics-2026/
HTML
<a href="https://onlinebusinesslineofcredit.com/business-line-of-credit-statistics-2026/">Business Line of Credit Statistics 2026 (Meridian Private Line)</a>
Last updated: September 25, 2026. Refreshed when the Fed releases new SBCS or SLOOS data.
- 2026-09-25: Full source audit and rebuild (see corrections above).
- 2026-05-13: First published.
Financial Disclaimer: Figures in this article come from government surveys, academic research, and press reporting. They are provided for informational purposes only. Individual lender terms vary. This content does not constitute financial advice.
Meridian Private Line is a marketing affiliate, not a lender. See our full disclosure policy.
See where your business fits.
Meridian Private Line connects operators with independent financing partners across bank and online channels. Not a lender.
This is educational content, not financial advice.
Check Capital Eligibility →